If you are pulled over and arrested on suspicion of DUI, you will be placed under police custody and taken to the nearest police station or jail, where law enforcement will take your mugshots and fingerprints.
It can be a scary experience for first-time offenders and can bring on plenty of anxiety and panic.
Keep in mind that in some states, you can be immediately released if someone comes to jail and pays your bail. However, in a number of states, the trend is jail terms have become mandatory even for individuals who get arrested for the first time. Typically, first-time offenders are only jailed for one to two days. The jail sentence can be served on the weekend, but it is still considered jail time which carries some costs which include consequences for your mental health and well-being. It will also help if you contact a competent and skilled person in Tempe DUI lawyer at once.
In Tempe, Arizona, if you are 21 years old or older, it is possible for you to be charged with DUI if your blood alcohol content is above .8%. If you are pulled over and arrested for DUI after a sobriety test, you might be serving jail time. If you refuse to take the sobriety test, you may have your driver’s license suspended for one year if it is your first offense. If it is already your second or third offense, it is possible for your driver’s license to be suspended for up to a couple of years.
Appearance in court
At the time of your arrest, you will be provided with a ticket or summons that tell you the date you have to make an appearance in court to face the charges. In Tempe, hire a DUI lawyer at this point.
In some instances, drivers feel humiliated to appear in public to answer charges of drunk driving.
Currently, courts may shame you for denying or pleading not guilty and trying to fight the case. They might show videos of you failing the sobriety test for everyone in the courtroom to see.
In Tempe, Arizona, the law states that you will be jailed for not less than 10 consecutive days and fined up to $1200 for a DUI charge. You might also be required to undergo education and treatment. Your vehicle might also be equipped with an ignition interlock device. It is also possible that you will be mandated to perform community service.
Revocation of your driver’s license
In every state, even for first-time offenders, your sentence will include a suspension of your driver’s license for a period. Even if your state provides a hardship license that permits during the time your license was suspended, you will feel that your driving privileges will be radically cut.
Keep in mind that in some states, if you refuse to take the sobriety test or submit to a breathalyzer as well as blood test, your driver’s license will be suspended immediately even before your appearance in court.
In addition to the mental anguish, a suspended license may result in a burden since you have no choice but to depend on friends and loved ones to be mobile and go from one place to another.
You must know the consequences of your actions right after being pulled over and charged with DUI. It is in your best interest to contact a competent and reliable Tempe DUI lawyer who can make a good strategy for you to protect your rights and mitigate your sentence.
In Tempe, Arizona, the law states that if you apply for and accept the privilege of driving a vehicle, you give your consent to test for blood alcohol content. If you are charged and arrested while driving under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drugs, you have the option to refuse the test, but there will be an implication in your case in court. This law is known as the Implied consent law.